Skip to content

Country

Fiberside Chats: Jennifer Daley June 30th, 2024

Original price $20.00 - Original price $20.00
Original price
$20.00
$20.00 - $20.00
Current price $20.00

Fair Isle Knitting!
Join Jennifer Daley on an extraordinary adventure through the textile history and color of Fair Isle knitting. Jennifer will discuss her journey to Fair Isle, Scotland, the historic birthplace of Fair Isle knitting. She will unveil the evolution of Fair Isle knitting, Shetland wool, historic motifs or patterns, color theory, and knitting techniques specific to Fair Isle knitting. This fun and informative Fiberside Chat will integrate traditional Fair Isle knitted fisherman’s keps, designed by Jennifer as Knitting Jenny. Fisherman’s keps are caps or hats of conical shape and colourful design that were once considered a necessity for survival at sea for fishermen and sailors. Today they are an entertaining and interesting way to display the knitter’s skill for design and color. Please join us for this special presentation of Fair Isle knitting!

BIO: 
Dr. Jennifer Daley is a university professor, textile historian, and knitwear designer. Since 2005, Jennifer has been sharing her knitting journey at www.KnittingJenny.com. In April 2022, she moved to the Shetland Islands, Scotland, to continue her research into the history of Shetland wool and Fair Isle knitting. In the Shetland capital of Lerwick, Jennifer managed the day-to-day operations of the Shetland Textile Museum, where she also researched the history of the Shetland knitting industry, handknitting techniques, and tools specific to Shetland. In November 2022, Jennifer moved to the remote Scottish island of Fair Isle, the historic birthplace of Fair Isle knitting. In 2023, from her knitting design studio there, Jennifer launched The Knitting Jenny Pattern Series, celebrating creativity and colorful wool projects inspired by Fair Isle of the Shetland Islands, Scotland.

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, June 30th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

Availability:
10 in stock, ready to be shipped