Skip to content

Country

Fiberside Chats: Helen Robertson February 4, 2024

Sold out
Original price $20.00 - Original price $20.00
Original price
$20.00
$20.00 - $20.00
Current price $20.00

 Sign up for this Chat at Longmont Yarn Shoppe

 

Journey through Shetland History

Join Helen Robertson on an extraordinary journey through Shetland's captivating history. From ancient Picts to powerful Vikings, from enigmatic discoveries like the Gunnister Man to the dramatic Napoleonic Wars, discover the colorful tapestry of the past. Helen will also unveil the evolution of Shetland lace, connecting the traditions of old with the modern era of zoom meetings. Using her knitted creations, she will bring each period to life, showcasing the profound influence of her rich Shetland heritage. Get ready to explore three unique techniques that Helen has developed: wire knitting, Fizzy Fair Isle, and Ragtime Knitting. This adventure awaits you!

Helen Robertson Bio:
I was born and grew up in Shetland, knitting since age 3. I am inspired by Shetland’s rich heritage and natural environment and I enjoy developing new knitting techniques and designing knitwear and jewellery. I am known for my innovation in knitting - both in exploring new materials and developing new techniques. My jewellery designs have been described as ‘quirky’ and ‘startlingly original’. I love creating replicas of natural objects and abstracting images to create new designs. I deliver knit workshops in person and online in my various original techniques and I run social online knitting classes aimed at bringing folk across the world together though knitting. . I am also a Shetland Wool Week tutor and teach textiles through the Adult Education program for the Shetland Islands Council. For the past two winters I have travelled around 8 of Shetland’s inhabited outer isles to deliver knitting workshops in two of my original techniques wire knitting and fizzy fair isle knitting as part of Culture Collective. I am very proud of my Shetland Heritage which I love to modernise and share! https://www.helenrobertson.com/

 

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, February 4th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific, 6:00pm GMT

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only. 

Compare products

{"one"=>"Select 2 or 3 items to compare", "other"=>"{{ count }} of 3 items selected"}

Select first item to compare

Select second item to compare

Select third item to compare

Compare