Christmas By The Sea Weekend SALE 20% OFF all weekend long!

Fiberside Chats: Christine LeGrow & Shirley Anne Scott December 4, 2022

Fiberside Chats: Christine LeGrow & Shirley Anne Scott December 4, 2022

Regular price
$20.00
Sale price
$20.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Saltwater Knitting

Shirley and Christine take you on a virtual knitting tour of their island home, as seen through their award-winning books. Newfoundland’s extreme weather has influenced its traditional knits for centuries. In Saltwater Mittens they introduce you to the iconic Trigger Mitt and share tips on completing this essential cold weather wear. Next, from Saltwater Classics and Saltwater Gifts, you gain insight on why traditional knits were necessary for the survival of European settlers. As time passed a distinct culture evolved, and caps and mittens evolved too. Shirley and Christine highlight the heartwarming Hello Goodbye Mittens, every hunter’s favorite Moose Cap and the importance of Soldiers Socks. They complete their Newfoundland knitting tour through the newly released book, Saltwater Socks.

CHRISTINE LEGROW was born and raised in St. John’s, Newfoundland. After a long career in retail she began Spindrift Handknits, a thriving cottage industry that creates local designs that are knit by Newfoundlanders.

SHIRLEY ANNE SCOTT, also known as Shirl the Purl, is a Come From Away who made her home in St. John’s in 2006. A librarian by profession, in 1989 she wrote Canada Knits, a history of Canadian knitting that opened many doors.

Both are lifelong knitters with a keen interest in the fascinating traditions of the wonderful place they live in. In the midst of busy lives they have co-written four popular books, Saltwater Mittens, Saltwater Classics, Saltwater Gifts and Saltwater Socks. Christine and Shirley love to celebrate the art of living in Newfoundland through its knitting.

This is a live Zoom Event on Sunday, December 4th at 1:00pm Eastern, 12:00pm Central, 11:00am Mountain, 10:00am Pacific

This Fiberside Chat will be recorded - a link to the recording will be available for one week and shared with registered attendees only.