We have RELOCATED! We are now at 21 MEchanic St in Camden,ME

Fiberside Chats: Linda Ligon & Anne Merrow- September 12

Fiberside Chats: Linda Ligon & Anne Merrow- September 12

Regular price
$20.00
Sale price
$20.00
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Pulling color from nature is an ancient and universal human pursuit, and still relevant today. In this chat, Long Thread Media partners Anne Merrow and Linda Ligon talk about their new publication, Nature’s ColorwaysConjuring the chemistry and culture of natural dyes. Blue from green leaves, magenta from crusty lichens, a rainbow from your garden—there’s a full spectrum of possibilities represented in its pages, plus travels in time and space back to 18th century London, to 21st century gallery shows. Learn more about the world of natural dyes that may be right out your back door! Can Anne and Linda talk and pound leaves at the same time? Tune in and see.

 

Linda Ligon has had a long career in publishing, from high school yearbook to Interweave Press to Thrums Books to Long Thread Media. Crafting words, particularly words about textiles, has been her special focus. A founding partner in Long Thread Media, she has found joy in helping bring Handwoven, Spin Off, and Piecework back home.

Anne Merrow learned to knit while working in a Times Square publisher’s office, looking for an outside hobby. After making that hobby into her job as an editor of knitting books, she learned to spin and weave for fun and then found herself as the editor of Spin Off and Little Looms magazines. She uses her love of words, yarn, and craft communities as cofounder and Editorial Director of Long Thread Media.

This is a one-time live Zoom Event on Sunday, September 12th at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central, 2:00pm Mountain, 1:00pm Pacific.